When the Light turns Green

It was during the morning of Twenty Six (after Christmas Day) when I drove out to the office to pick up the security token for my laptop since I needed to complete some reports that were to be due the following day, that I grinded to a halt by a traffic light when it turned red and a young man in seemingly healthy physical shape but with wrinkled and hungry looks approached my car and stretched out his hand for anything I could offer, hanging on without leaving for other cars, perhaps confident by my turning to take a full glimpse of him as he poured blessings upon me, while I pondered why he should be begging rather than finding something meaningful to do, half-thinking if I should throw out something to him or not; just when I made up my mind that it was Christmas after all and sharing wouldn’t hurt, and decided to reach out for my wallet tucked in my trousers’ back pocket, the traffic light beamed green and I noticed the young man wave bye-bye to me while hobbling away as the blaring sounds of car horns behind me unconsciously gave breath to my accelerator and I zoomed off, with my mind restlessly rested on thoughts of the young man, his beggarly face gazing sorrowfully – yet beseechingly – into my soul until I, unable to contain the feeling of guilt, drove back in search of him after about an hour and not finding him, could only assuage my half sense of guilt by giving out what I would have given him to another beggar, who was listlessly leaning by a pole, seemingly contented not to bother someone like me, leaving me to wonder about the best moments to do the right thing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, One Sentence Story, Writing

Leave a Reply

